Australia Armed Forces

Australia Armed Forces

Army and Air Force. – The military organization of Australia has its own characteristics which greatly differentiate it from that of other states with compulsory conscription.

In fact, despite having some points of contact with the Swiss-type legal system, it stands out for the fact that it also includes a permanent nucleus organized in such a way as to provide for both administrative and educational needs. For Australia military, please check

The administration of military forces is entrusted to the Ministry of Defense, similar to the British High War Council (see Great Britain: Army).

The armed forces include: the standing army and the militia.

The standing army is essentially made up of the general staff (officers), instructor non-commissioned officers, soldiers and rank-and-file graduates in a very small number, with whom, in addition to administrative and educational needs, they also form the core of the services. necessary technicians (artillery, engineers, various services, etc.). The total number of permanent members is just over 1700. The permanent army remains in place for 5 years with the faculty of three-year stalking. At the end of the stops and the stalks, the non-commissioned officers and the men of the troop pass into the reserve.

The militia is formed only in case of war. The members, however, must complete short periods of annual education.

This military organization is complemented by a very advanced premilitary organization. In fact, all the youngsters, as soon as they reach the 12th year of age, must be enrolled in the recruitment mirrors and attend schools, where they receive education as junior cadets. In March of the year in which they turn 14, they must be re-enrolled and continue, grouped into battalions, the course of education as senior cadets. At the age of 18, all senior cadets, except those ineligible and those residing outside education centers, are assigned to militia units. The purpose of the militia is simply to defend the national territory; however, the law allows voluntary enrollment for overseas service. After the age of 26, the citizen-soldiers pass from the militia to the reserve. The obligation to serve in the militia, in wartime, is extended up to the age of 60 and to all citizens aged 18 to 20 who are British subjects and have at least 6 months residency in Australia.

The militia organization includes two cavalry divisions, 5 infantry divisions and garrison troops.

Each cavalry division includes: 3 cavalry brigades of 3 or 4 regiments each and a detachment of divisional troops. In total there are 21 cavalry regiments.

Each detachment of divisional cavalry troops includes: 3 field artillery batteries; 1 squadron of field engineers; 2 Liaison Squadrons of Divisional Cavalry; 4 train companies of the divisional cavalry; 3 field ambulances; 1 health section; 3 veterinary sections.

Each infantry division includes three infantry brigades and the detachment of divisional troops. Each infantry brigade is made up of 4 battalions (except 1 which has only 3, and 2 which have 5). In total there are, therefore, 15 brigades and 61 battalions.

Each detachment of divisional troops includes: 9 field artillery batteries; 4 companies of genius; 3 connection companies; 4 train companies; 3 field ambulances; i sanitary section; 1 veterinary section.

The formation of the 5 in the division is a bit ‘different from that of the other.

The standing army and militia garrison troops include: standing army: position artillery (10 position batteries and 1 field battery), health services, stewardship, etc.; militia: 12 batteries from position; genius: 6 fortress companies.

The organization is territorial and the constituency is based on infantry units. There are, therefore, 61 battalion subdivisions, grouped into 15 brigade divisions. Each subdivision provides an infantry battalion and an aliquot of other troops; each includes an almost equal number of men of military age.

The garrison troops – permanent and militia – are divided into 6 districts, corresponding to the 6 states of Australia (New South Wales, Victoria, South Australia, Western Australia, Queensland, Tasmania).

Militia members aged 18 to 22 are required to complete an annual training period lasting 25 days for artillery and engineering, 16 days for other weapons. A part of this period must be spent in intensive education camps (17 days for artillery and engineering, 8 days for other weapons). But, depending on the circumstances, the length of the education periods may be shortened.

The normal method of instruction takes place both through courses for officers and non-commissioned officers for the various weapons, held in the capital or in the most appropriate places, and by sending small groups of instructing personnel to the educational territories (brigade and battalion).

Progressive systematic shooting training is taken care of by many shooting clubs.

The following military schools exist in Australia: 1. military college, for the training of officers, at Duntroon; 2. School of artillery training in South Head (New South Wales) divided into three sections: technical artillery school, school for the practical instruction of all field army artillery, school for artillery from the coast; 3. Infantry Shooting School in Randwick (New South Wales) which is to be transformed into a special small arms school.

There are few military establishments in Australia. The most important are: the Lithgow Portable Arms Factory; the Maribyrnon cordite factory in the state of Victoria.

Generally, however, much of the material needed by the army and almost all the raw materials necessary for the manufacture of weapons and ammunition flow from England.

As of February 1, 1926, the Australian Armed Forces comprised approximately the following troops: permanent 1740, reserve officers 9660; various 400, citizen-soldiers 43,200; total 53,000.

The military budget is around 5 and a half million pounds sterling, that is to say about half a billion Italian pounds.

Air Force is organized into two distinct branches: military and naval. The organization of the military side is not yet complete.

There is a military airfield in Point Cook (Victoria) capable of 60 aircraft.

In the states of New South Wales, Victoria and Western Australia there are also 12 civil aerodromes, each of which can accommodate up to 6 aircraft.

Marina. – The Australian Navy was formed as a stand-alone prior to the Great War. In this, the Australian units took part, signaling themselves in the escort of convoys and troops and in the destruction of the German Emden, due to the light cruiser Sydney.

The fleet currently consists of two light cruisers (Australia and Canberra), of 10,000 tons and 32 miles of speed; a light cruiser (Adelaide) of 5560 tons and 25 miles of speed; a light cruiser (Brisbane) of 5400 tons and 25 and a half miles of speed; a flotilla conductor of 1660 tons; five destroyers of 1075 tons and 36 miles of speed; six 710-ton destroyers; two submarines of 1420 tons surfaced and 15 miles of speed; an aircraft carrier of 6500 tons and 20 miles of speed (range: 10 aircraft); 3 minesweepers of 1250 tons. In addition, some auxiliary ships (workshops, hydrographic, coal and naphtha transport, etc.) for a total of about 29,000 tons.

The navy has a strength of 5,000 active duty men and 6,500 reserve men.

For the merchant navy, see great britain.

Australia Armed Forces

About the author