Havana, Cuba

Havana, Cuba


According to abbreviationfinder, the city of Havana conforms to the definition of megapolis, since according to data from the 2002 Census, the province had 2 201 610 people and in 2008 estimates, an approximate of 2 148 132 million, which is equivalent to more than 20% of the population of the Republic, which is equivalent to a demographic density of 2,963.8 residents per square kilometer.

Currently two municipalities are considered super populated in terms of absolute population, such is the case of Diez de Octubre and Arroyo Naranjo, so the southern part of the city houses the largest number of population. While the coastal municipality of Centro Habana encompasses the highest population density per square kilometer, because according to data from the government of said municipality, there are 65,565.2 people per square kilometer, so that in only 3.42 square kilometers live more than 160 thousand residents.

In addition, from these somewhat chilling data, the province has a floating population of more than half a million people who, for different reasons, visit or live in it temporarily, which complicates the metropolitan demographic spectrum.

The autochthonous population is higher than the immigrant, more than 2/3: 1 501 368 people, for 68.45%, although residents from other places constitute an important figure: 702 242 residents, for 31.55 %. Of them: 47.43% come from the eastern region, 25.99 from the central region and 25.78% from western provinces.

Havana is the largest city in the Cuban context and in the insular Caribbean area. Well, its metropolitan environment exceeds two million residents and although it does not reach the level of “megacities” such as New York, Tokyo or Mexico City, which exceed ten million, and some up to twenty, in the Antilles there is no city more populated above Havana.

It is also so from the point of its dimensions: this capital city with its metropolitan environment, although it is only a quarter of the Isle of Youth, is superior in extension to the islands of the Lesser Antilles that constitute nations, except Trinidad and Tobago. Tobago, Guadeloupe and Martinique and even tiny states of the old continent are smaller than this city: Andorra, Luxembourg, San Marino, the Vatican and Monaco. So, due to its surface and its population, Havana is a great city. See population of Cuba.

Political-administrative organization

Law 1304 of July 3, 1976, approved by the Council of Ministers of the Republic of Cuba, repealed the political-administrative division that existed in 6 provinces, 68 regions and 407 municipalities and sections and established a new one with 14 provinces and 169 municipalities. Havana was then recognized as one of the fourteen provinces of the country.

On the other hand, the Constitution of the Republic of Cuba, in force since February 24 of the same year 1976, initially reflected in Article 3 that: “The capital of the Republic is Havana” after the Constitutional Reform of 1992 would reflected in article 2 as follows: “The official name of the Cuban State is the Republic of Cuba, the official language is Spanish and its capital is Havana.”

But it also happens that, among the provinces approved by virtue of the aforementioned Law 1304, is the Havana Province -, whose territory was independent from Havana.

If we talk about provinces, the proper names of these territories are: Havana and Havana. Two distinct, independent provinces, although they form a historical, geographical and idiosyncratic unit.

When we approach the theme of the capital, then we cannot equate the province of Havana with the capital of the nation, which is Havana. Certainly this city is called the same as the neighboring province: Havana.

The current capital city ―whose genesis is in the town of San Cristóbal de La Habana, settled for the third and definitive time next to the bay of Havana, and which in its excessive growth towards the west, south and east, was annexing other settlements between the 16th and 20th centuries, it constitutes a great metropolitan urban nucleus. Some of the territories that make it up had achieved city or town titles: Marianao, Guanabacoa, Regla. Others were typified as towns, villages or hamlets, remaining linked to the city by means of new localities called neighborhoods, districts or communities.

The province of Havana is currently made up of 15 municipalities:

  • Old Havana
  • Havana Center
  • Revolution Square
  • Beach
  • Marianao
  • 10
  • Closed
  • Rule
  • San Miguel
  • Parrot
  • Arroyo Naranjo
  • Guanabacoa
  • Boyeros
  • East Havana and
  • The Lisa.

These are interconnected with each other by bus and subway systems, as well as taxis, trains, etc. Each municipality has peculiarities for example: in Plaza is the seat of the government and the fundamental ministries, in addition to being the financial district of the city, in Playa is the embassy area.

New territorial organization

According to a law approved in August 2010 by the National Assembly of Cuba, said province retakes the name of Havana, officially eliminating the nickname “City”, unnecessary after the disappearance of the homonymous province, approved by that same law. . The city is administratively divided into 15 municipalities.

Havana would receive from present-day Havana the coastal strip from the Santa Ana River to the western edge of the Latin American School of Medicine (ELAM) and the self-supply area of the University of Informatics Sciences (UCI). In addition, the capital would be adding the east side of the Cacahual Plateau, today belonging to the municipality of Bejucal, where CENPALAB is located, and the population settlements of Tirabeque 1 and 2. In total, the capital would assume 5.75 new ones.

Havana, Cuba

About the author