Majuro, Marshall Islands

Majuro, Marshall Islands

According to abbreviationfinder, Majuro is the capital of the Marshall Islands, and it is located on one of the atolls of the archipelago. The orography of this atoll is made up of coral- covered reefs that surround an inland lagoon. This beautiful seascape, accompanied by a tropical climate that is around 28º throughout the year, make Majuro one of the most spectacular cities in the country. The atoll consists of 57 islets. Three of them, Delap, Uliga and Darrit, also known as Rita, form the municipality of Majuro, also known by the abbreviation DUD.

It has more than 22,000 residents, is the largest urban center in the archipelago, houses the seat of government, has an international airport and a good commercial port, as well as several educational centers. Much of the island’s economy relies on revenue from the United States’ missile base in nearby Kwajalein Atoll.


The first settlements on the Marshall Islands date back approximately 2,000 years and were conditioned by the arrival of various groups from Melanesia. The islands that make up this country were discovered in 1529 by the Spanish Saavedra, and centuries later by Gilbert and Marshall, who would give their names to each archipelagos. European colonization decimated the indigenous population due to its lack of defenses against the diseases brought by the colonizers. At the end of the 19th century the Marshall Islands were occupied by Germany, and after the German defeat in the World War I, passed into the hands of Japan under a mandate from the League of Nations. During the course of World War II, the Americans invaded them and expelled the Japanese, being granted to them by the UN after the end of the war their administration in trust.

The US military used Bikini and Eniwetok atolls to test atomic weapons, forcing the population to evacuate to other islands. The Constitution was approved in 1979 after a referendum, and marked the departure of the Marshall Islands from the Trust Territory of the Pacific. The UN revoked that legal status in 1990 and, a year later, accepted the Marshall Islands as a member of the organization, thereby consummating the independence process.

The free association agreement with the United States was signed in 1983 although it entered into force three years later. In it, the Marshall Islands are constituted as a sovereign State that cedes responsibility for the defense of its territory to the United States of America. The Government of the Marshall intensified during the early 1990s its relations with the powers of the Pacific, especially China, with which it has signed an advantageous agreement fishing. The head of state who brought the negotiations to a successful conclusion was Amata Kabua. After the last elections, called in 2000, he was elected Head of State and President, Kessai Hesa Note.


The oceanic territory under the jurisdiction of the Republic of the Marshall Islands is one of the largest in Oceania, with more than 970,000 km² of oceanic extension. However, the total surface area is barely 181 km², which shows the small size of the islands that make it up. The Marshall Islands archipelago includes a total of 29 atolls, five relatively small islands and some 800 coral islets; The atolls of Majuro (9.2 km2), Arno, Mili, Likiep, Bikini, Rongelap, Jaluit, among others, as well as the islands of Jabwot, Mejit, Lib, Jemo and Kili


Majuro, the capital, is located on the island of the same name, south of the oceanic territory that make up the Marshall Islands.


The island’s climate is tropical, that is, hot and humid, with high temperatures but softened by the arrival of the northeast trade winds. The average annual temperature is around 27 ºC. Typhoons are frequent, the effects of which are more than devastating.


The Marshall Islands are home to some of the most spectacular beaches on the planet. In addition, its seabed is endowed with fabulous resources, protected by several Ocean Parks.


Majuro has a population of 37,141 residents (2012). The pole with the largest population are the group of three communities Delap or Dalap, Uliga and Djarrit, also known by their initials DUD, located in the eastern sector of the atoll. Most of the residents of the city are dedicated to watching over and protecting the Bikar Atoll National Park, located between Majuro and Wake Island (under the rule of the United States). See population of Marshall Islands.


The Marshall Islands economy is highly dependent on the United States of America, which annually contributes a high percentage of the national budget. Around 10% of the population lives directly from tourism.

Majuro has a port, and an international airport. In addition, it has a university, the University of the Marshall Islands, which is at the eastern end of the atoll.


In Majuro there is an excellent offer of leisure and nightlife: discos, nightclubs and cocktail bars… Traditional dance performances are popular on all the islands. It is also possible to practice numerous water sports like diving by reefs of coral or underwater fishing, but fishing will be necessary that the traveler is informed in advance of the fishing seasons and protected species.

Culture and art

In the Alele Museum of Majuro, the capital, the tourist will be able to see a sample of the culture of the islands.


The most typical articles are fabrics, bags, mats and basketry, which are made by hand by the women of the country. The men are very good canoe builders, and many tourists take home a small replica.

Holidays and traditions

The Marshall Islands celebrate Constitution Day on May 1

Important personalities

Kessai Hesa Note was elected President of the State on January 5, 2004, with 100% of the votes.


The most popular sports in the country, given the existing fans, are basketball and volleyball.

Majuro, Marshall Islands

About the author